Kerala Piravi marks the birth of the state of Kerala. On November 1, 1956, the state of Kerala officially came into existence, nine years after Independence.Until November 1, 1956, the region had three different states. Malabar, Cochin and Travancore. The princely states were divided and that led to the famous Fukyali Kerala (meaning united Kerala) movement. The Malayali speaking people of the three princely state (pre-Independence) joined hands together culminating in the formation of Kerala.  The princely State of Cochin occupied the middle section, and the sovereign State of Travancore administered the southern region. After the Independence of India, there arose a strong need to carve new states on a linguistic basis. Thus, a few years after Independence, Kerala was reorganized as one such independent State.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *